musicians from across europe – music without borders


schönberg: serenade, lied ohne worte

Schönberg’s Serenade is one of the core pieces on the New European Ensemble’s repertoire. A performance of this masterwork was broadcast live on Dutch and Swedish radio. Lied ohne Worte, one of the Serenade’s movements, was broadcast by the VPRO on Dutch national television.

boccadoro: zingiber

The Italian composer Carlo Boccadoro excells in groovy minimal music. The New European Ensemble performed Zingiber on Dutch national television.


lam lai: Fantasy on Reliquias porteñas

The New European Ensemble works closely together with the composition department of the The Hague’s Royal Conservatory. Students create new pieces for the ensemble in close collaboration with the musicians. Already in the preliminary stages of their work the composers can discuss their sketches and test if the sounds that they have imagined while writing their scores, can be realized in practice or improved. Lam Lai composed this witty fantasy on a classic milonga.


Follow us on:

Angus Barnacle (music) & Kenzo kusuda (Choreography): BARE (trailer)

BARE is music theatre in which the musicians play the leading roles. They reveal their dreams and ambitions and also their struggle to exist and thrive. The renowned Japanese choreographer Kenzo Kusuda makes this visible with poetry and humour.

benjamin staern: bells and waves (2010) – Christian Karlsen, conductor

arnold schönberg: Ode to napoleon – alexander oliver, narrator – Christian Karlsen, conductor

Arnold Schönberg’s timeless masterpieces for ensemble form the backbone of our repertoire. We performed Ode to Napoleon on several occasions, in the Netherlands and abroad. We always share the stage with our narrator Alexander Oliver, who turns reading Byron’s poem into a great experience.

justin christensen: THe failures of marsyas (2009) – Christian Karlsen, conductor

Benjamin Staern, the ensemble’s composer in residence, wrote Bells and Waves in 2010. It’s a brilliant and colourful piece that bursts with life and energy. In 2011 Staern was awarded with the SMFF Award for ‘The most significant contemporary music work of the year’ in the category chamber music.

In 2009 the Canadian Justin Christensen was one of the first composers whom we commissioned to write a new work for the ensemble. He chose the contest between Apollo and Marsyas from Ovid’s Metamorphoses as his subject for The Failures of Marsyas. In 2010 he received the prestigious Jules Léger Prize for this piece.

New European Ensemble is supported by Fonds Podiumkunsten (from 2017) and the city of The Hague